Classics Rock! Shrimp Scampi

Baked Shrimp Scampi with Panko Crumble

I was feeling nostalgic and decided to go for a classic, Shrimp Scampi.  My husband had some amazing shrimp scampi about 30 years ago and he has been on a quest to find the scampi of his memories ever since.  Sadly, nothing ever seems to compare.  Is it the scampi or is it his memory?  Hmmm…

Shrimp Scampi with Roasted Vegetables

Do I get discouraged?  Hell no!  I keep trying every scampi recipe I can find.  “Is this the one dear?”, I ask each time.  Well, those of you who know me or know my husband, know what the answer is.  So, I keep trying!

The one I made this time was Ina Garten’s baked shrimp scampi recipe.  It is crusted with panko crumbs, butter and garlic.  It sounded like a wonderful recipe.  I thought it was fantastic!  My guests loved it too.  My husband loved it, but it was not the scampi from the bowels of his memories.  Do memories have bowels?  Probably not, but you know what I mean.

Roasted Vegetables with Parsley

I paired the scampi up with a very colorful vegetable roast. I roasted small new potatoes in three different varieties, red skin, Yukon golds and purple fingerlings.  I added cherry tomatoes and fresh green beans for a one dish wonder.

 

I didn’t take any pictures of dessert.  I took the easy way out and served ice cream with chocolate sauce.  Mum adores ice cream and so does David, so even though I consider it cheating to serve ice cream for a meal that I’m blogging, I went with it just this once.

Leave a Reply

