Tennis Party Quiche

My Tennis club had a season kick-off party yesterday.  There was a tennis round robin, exhibition matches put on by the pros, and a pot luck lunch.   I wanted to make something that could be served at room temperature and I didn’t want to worry about the dish going bad in the heat.  So, I came up with quiche.  I was able to make it the night before and re-heat in the morning just before the party.

Spinach Feta and Dill Quiche for a Crowd

You know I’m a big showoff, so I can’t make quiche Lorraine or some other passe, boring old quiche.  My quiche has to wow the guests.  So, for the first one, I made a spinach with feta cheese and fresh dill pie.  I used puff pastry sheets for the crust and baked it in a disposable, tin 9 by 13 inch pan.  It was really beautiful, smelled fantastic and was absolutely delicious.  There wasn’t a scrap left at the party.  Try this recipe for what I call, Spanakopita Quiche.

Tomato Mozzarella and Fresh Basil Quiche for a Crowd

For the second dish, I made a tomato, mozzarella and fresh basil quiche.  The recipe is a take off on insalata caprese.  I was thinking about how to incorporate fresh tomatoes into a quiche with all the moisture there would be in the tomatoes.  I had a brainstorm and decided to roast the tomatoes before assembling the pie.

I used Italian plum tomatoes cut in half lengthwise.  I cored them and laid them out on a cookie sheet.  I drizzled them with olive oil, salt, pepper and a little sugar (to help bring out the tomato flavor).  I roasted them at 450 degrees for about 40 minutes.

I used some of the roasted tomatoes, chopped up in the pie, and I saved some, whole to decorate the top of the quiche.  I used shredded mozzarella in the quiche, but thin sliced fresh mozzarella for the top of the quiche.  After scattering the top with fresh basil chiffonade, it looked a lot like a classic Margherita Pizza Pie.

I wanted this quiche to mimic the insalata caprese, which classically has good olive oil drizzled over top.  I din’t think olive oil in a quiche would work out, but maybe a few chopped green olives would give me the flavor I wanted.  I still have five pounds of green olives left over from the catering job.  If you recall, these are top of the line (expensive) large green olives.  I rough chopped a cup of them and scattered them throughout the quiche.  I was nervous about how that was going to work out.  Well, I was delighted when I finally got a taste at the party.  It was amazing!  A real WOW quiche recipe.  A nice twist on several classics.  I hope you give this recipe for “Tomato Basil Quiche” a try.

Leave a Reply

