Thai Shrimp with Red Chili Glaze

 

Thai Shrimp with Red Chili Glaze, Spicy Bok Choy and Coconut Rice

 

My friends Carl and Rozana came for dinner Sunday evening before taking David and I to a comedy show at the Parker Playhouse in Fort Lauderdale.  We saw Dana Carvey and he was hilarious!

I hadn’t cooked for Carl in a while and I got the word that he was jonesing for something from my kitchen.  Carl is one of my favorite people to cook for because he loves, loves loves food!  Rozana enjoys a good meal as much as the next person, but she eats like a bird and generally doesn’t think much about food.  So, I always imagine Carl going hungry.  Of course it’s not true, but sometimes, I worry!

I served:

This menu is great for company because everything can be staged and ready to flash heat at the last minute.  I made the base chili sauces for the shrimp and bok choy ahead of time.  When it was time to serve, I turned the two burners on high and when the sauces were hot, I tossed in the shrimp in one pan and the bok choy in the other.  Both dishes take about five minutes to cook.  Meanwhile I had made the coconut sauce for the mock rice ahead of time.  The cauliflower only take about five minutes to cook in its sauce.  So, easy-peasey, everything comes out at the same time, piping hot and perfectly cooked.

Give this menu a shot, it was more delicious than I can possibly describe.  It was heavenly!

Leave a Reply

