Labor Day Mixed Grill

Rustic Tart with Mixed Stone Fruit

The highlight of this Labor Day’s menu was dessert.  The low and slow grilled beef and pork ribs were an adventure as well.   Let’s start with the dessert.  I made a rustic tart with mixed stone fruit; peaches, three kinds of plums and fresh cherries.  I used a puff pastry sheet, which always simplifies a dish.  See the recipe for the details on how to make this beautiful and delicious dessert.

Hickory Grilled Beef and Pork Ribs

I have never made beef ribs before and they have been calling to me lately.  I think Labor Day is probably one of the biggest grilling days of the year, so I thought grilled ribs would be perfect.

And since I am always seeking that extra WOW in my menus, I decided to do a mixed grill; beef AND pork ribs.  I followed a recipe from the Food Network cooking couple, the Neeley’s.  The Neeley’s are famous for their barbecue.

Well, it turned out to be a disaster!  All my efforts to make these ribs ended in over-cooked, dry and inedible ribs.  Thank goodness Mum is such a good sport.  She insisted her charred beef rib was delicious.  What a dear!

I can’t leave well enough alone, so I went out the next day and bought more ribs and tried again.  I went with the same basic method, but cut way back on the cook time.  The ribs were amazing the second time around.  I especially loved the beef ribs.  I will feel confident to try my modified recipe again.   Check it out on the recipe page.

So Simple Potato Salad

I am not a big fan of potato salad, but it seemed that potato salad would be perfect for a Labor Day barbecue.

I reached back to my Connecticut days and resurrected a recipe that a co-worker would always bring to office pot lucks.

It is a very simple recipe and the only potato salad I have ever liked.  It is very simply; potatoes, chives, mayonnaise and salt and pepper.  I also added a dollop of sour cream.  The trick that makes it so tasty is to mix everything while the potatoes are still hot from the boiling pot.  Peel the potatoes and chop them before boiling them.  That way, you can drain them and immediately mix everything while the potatoes are still hot.  They absorb the mayonnaise and seasonings so much better when they are warm.  This salad is very delicious.  Give it a try and see what you think.

Grilled Veggies

The entire menu:

Mixed Stone Fruit Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

