Pork Rib Roast

Roasted Yellow Beet Salad with Walnut Oil Vinaigrette

I don’t usually begin my posts with a discussion of the salad, but this salad was so surprising I must begin here.  For quite some time I have been looking for a delicious way to serve beets.  I guess I really don’t like beets, I just like the idea of liking beets.  They have such fabulous color, whether red or yellow.  I buy them, I store them, I look at them, I store them and then I look at them some more.  I really don’t like beets.

So here I was again, having purchased beets, this time the yellow ones.  They had been in my fridge for two weeks (so I could stare at them for a goodly number of times).  I found this recipe for the beet salad at Melissa’s produce site.  I tweaked it a bit to suit myself.  I used champagne vinegar instead of balsamic and I added fresh tarragon.  It was so delicious, I couldn’t believe I was eating beets.  Even Mum, who we all know hates her vegetables, ate up every last bit.  The salad has roasted yellow beets, toasted pine nuts, shallots and feta cheese.  It is dressed in a shallot and walnut oil vinaigrette with fresh tarragon.  Wowee, it was really good!  You must try this recipe. It has a lot of ingredients, but that’s what must be done to beets to make them taste good.

Pork Rib Roast with Garlic and Rosemary

With the amazing beet salad, I served an impressive pork rib roast.  I thought I would try to make it exactly the way I made the lamb rib racks for my birthday.  I did the pork the same way, but added ten more minutes to the cooking time and they came out perfectly.  They were medium rare, and as tender and juicy as could be.  The rosemary and garlic added their usual intoxicating aromas to the gorgeous meal.

Plated Pork Roast with Parsley Potatoes

With all the complexity of the salad and the show-stopping rib roast, I decided I better keep the side dish simple.  So, I served very simple, yet elegant parsley new potatoes.  I quartered and boiled the potatoes until tender.  I drained them and added butter, fresh parsley and salt.  They were delicious.

Tipsy Plums and Raspberries

Fresh plums are in season and I am drawn to their beauty.  I found a great recipe in the August 2010 issue of Food and Wine magazine for “Tipsy Plums & Raspberries. The plums are sliced thin and soaked in Japanese Plum Wine with a dash of ground ginger.  After soaking for an hour or so and just before serving, fresh raspberries are added.  The raspberries fall apart if they soak for too long.  The recipe didn’t call for any sugar, but I sugared the raspberries before adding them.  The compote is served with a sprig of mint and ginger snap cookies on the side.  Really simple, really delicious.

One Response to Pork Rib Roast

  1. Sue Van Houten says:

    Uuummmmmmmm! This all sounds so yummy. I hope I have the patience to replicate it. I’m going to have to start cooking. I make a great spinach salad though. When I cook, which is rare, it is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

