It’s My Birthday Dinner

What is my favorite thing to do on my birthday?  Make myself dinner, of course!

Rack of Lamb with Garlic and Rosemary

Birthday Menu:

Rack of  Lamb with Garlic and Rosemary

Potato Gratin with Parsley and Sage

Moroccan Glazed Carrots

♦Cucumber Raita with Mint

♦Triple Chocolate Cake

I decided to go all out for this meal.  It didn’t take me long to come up with rack of lamb.  I’ve never made rack of lamb before.  I don’t know why, because this recipe is so simple, so fool proof that I should have been making it for years.  Give it a try for some big WOW at your dinner table.

Potato Gratin with Parsley and Sage

I was thinking my famous rosemary scalloped potatoes would go nicely, but then I thought, “too much rosemary”.  A little rosemary goes a long way.  So, I decided to mix it up a bit.  I made the same scalloped potatoes, but this time with parsley and sage.  I changed up the cheese as well.  Instead of using cheddar, I used Gruyere (fancy french cheese that melts fantasticly and tastes a little like swiss cheese) and Fontina (another great melting cheese).  They smelled fantastic and the taste was simply divine.  Give these a try, or try your own cheese and herb combination.

Moroccan Glazed Carrots

Now, I needed something red on the plate but I was tired of tomatoes.  I came up with Julia’s (Child) Glazed Carrots.  But I was brave and changed up her recipe a bit.  I know, can you believe I would do such a thing?  I used brown sugar instead of white and I added a pinch of Garam Masala to give it that Moroccan taste.  They were amazing!

Cucumber Raita with Fresh Mint

With all these rich dishes, I decided I needed something light and acidic.  The eastern Indians use raitas to cleanse the palate of heavy or spicy foods.  So I made a cucumber and mint raita.  I added a bit of diced red onion as well.  The dish should be made with a yogurt dressing.  I didn’t have any, so I punted with sour cream that I mellowed with a bit of half and half.  I added lemon juice and a splash of rice vinegar along with a teaspoon of sugar.  It did the job and was very pretty as well.

I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of the birthday cake, but so sad, too bad, can’t bring it back.  I bought it at Doris’ Italian Market, swoon…..  It was a triple chocolate cake, meaning; chocolate cake with chocolate pudding and chocolate ganache.  I thought I was going to faint from sugar shock, but it was out of this world delicious.  I didn’t pass out so I had another piece for breakfast the next day.

Leave a Reply

