Birthday Open House

Caribbean Pork Roast about to be Pulled

The family was flying from all over for Mum’s 90th birthday.  I was hosting an open house for all the travelers, and Mum, of course.   I like to give the menu a tropical kick when I have guests from outside of Florida.  I like to let the guests feel like they are somewhere exotic, like they are definitely away from home and experiencing something different.

Mango Salsa

I didn’t know when people would be arriving, so I set everything up tapas style.  Tapas is a Spanish style of dining that implies small meals or small servings of many things.  I set everything up in stations around the kitchen and family room, so people could help themselves whenever they wanted.

Mojito Bar with Limes and Mint

I set up a mojito bar in the kitchen.  I had a mix of drinkers and non-drinkers in attendance, so as usual, I like to serve a featured cocktail that can be prepared with or without alcohol.

As guests arrived I would offer them a refreshing mojito, virgin or slutty style.  My nephew, Thomas came with his lovely girl friend, Jessica.  Boy, this gal is a something something.  She works in the murky world of politics and she is smart as a whip.  Jessica is rarely at a loss for words, but when given the choice of a virgin mojito or a slutty mojito, she stammered a bit said she would have to think about it.  I made her a slutty mojito and explained that I had to make certain assumptions.  She laughed, relaxed and we became good buddies for the rest of the weekend.

The Menu:

Roasted Shrimp with Asian Dipping Sauce

Grilled Jerk Chicken Wings

Olive Tray

Leave a Reply

