Memorial Day Picnic

Grilled Hot Dogs and Jerk Chicken Tenders

Sunday usually means fancy food, but the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend means picnic.  Mum loves a good hotdog, so hotdogs it was.  I added grilled jerk chicken tenders because I couldn’t just serve hotdogs, now could I?  I thought they dressed up the menu perfectly.

I served:

The jerk chicken tenders were super easy and grilled up in under five minutes.  I grilled both the hotdogs and the tenders just long enough to get those gorgeous grill marks, about five minutes on a hot grill.  I marinated the chicken tenders for about an hour before grilling.   I reserved the marinade, brought it to a boil and then cooked it down into a yummy drizzle with a little jerky kick to it.

Crabby Deviled Eggs

Since it was Mum’s Sunday dinner, I had to jazz up the deviled eggs.  So, I decided to add crab meat to the mix.  They were delicious!  I used an eight ounce container of pasteurized claw meat.  I didn’t realize how much moisture the crab would add, so they came out a bit runnier than I would have liked, but yummy none the less.

For the coleslaw, I used a bag of shredded mixed cabbages and made a dressing from Italian dressing, a bit of mayonnaise and a packet of splenda.  Yes, I’m still hiding the carbs from my guests.  They couldn’t tell, I promise.  You can add a teaspoon of sugar if you prefer.

Dreamy Strawberry Mousse

The strawberry mousse screamed summery freshness!  It was made with lemon jello and fresh strawberries pureed in the blender, chilled partially, then heavy cream was added to the mix.  The mixture was then poured into dessert cups and chilled until firm.  It took about 2 hours to firm up.  I topped it with the obligatory dollop of whipped cream.  Look how pretty they were!  The lemon flavored jello really perked up the strawberries and added more depth to the overall flavor of the dessert.  Ok, I know you’re wondering…. it was all sugar-free and no one knew it but me.  You could make it with regular jello if you prefer, but why, when this version is so good?

 

 

Leave a Reply

