Saturday, May 8, 2010 – Margarita Snapper

Margarita Snapper with Grilled Vegetables

Hey, what the heck – it’s not Sunday?  I’ll tell you, what’s going on.  I woke up this morning and wanted some fresh seafood.  I had big ideas but no ingredients.  I love the Fish Peddler East, in Fort Lauderdale, but it’s so far to go from here.  When I maintained an office in Fort Lauderdale, I would stop in every Thursday evening.  But now, with no office on the east side, I don’t get over there so much.  So, I headed over to Whole Foods Market.  For my neighborhood, they have the best, freshest, most reliable seafood.  For the most part, they are a bit pricey, but I like to go and see what’s on sale and then use the zen approach.  I went, and they had yellow tail snapper on sale.

YAY!  I love snapper!  My favorite way to fix any snapper is what I call, “Margarita Snapper”. Basically, you fix a margarita, add some olive oil and seasonings and use it as a marinade, basting sauce and drizzle.   I love this recipe and I have been wanting to post it here for others to enjoy.  So even though it’s Saturday, you’re getting my Margarita Snapper.

The menu I came up with to go with the snapper was:

Margarita Snapper with Grilled Peppers and Roasted Potatoes

Check out those pepper and onions!  They are so beautiful and trust me they are as delicious as they look.  I marinate them in the same marinade that I made for the fish, tossed them in the grill basket and grilled them until the edges have that beautiful char.  You are going to love these!

Leave a Reply

