Sunday, April 25, 2010 – Daria’s Prime Rib Roast

Melt in you mouth prime rib roast

Our local grocery store, Publix, had an amazing sale on beef rib roast, so I bought a small 2 rib roast.  It weighed just a smidge under 4 pounds, which is still too much for 3 people, but just think of the fabulous leftovers.  I’m already making my sister Lyta’s  French dips out of the leftovers while I write this.  Anyway, back to the rib roast. 

My sister-in-law, Daria is famous for her annual Christmas standing rib roast.  She makes it with all the classic sides, including Yorkshire  pudding.  So, having never prepared this cut of meat before, I put in a 911 call to Daria on Saturday night.  Drats!  No answer.  So I went online and found a myriad of methods.  I was overwhelmed and I got a little worried.  10:30 pm and the phone rings – Yay!  It’s Daria.  She was in bed exhausted from a long weekend of wedding celebrations.  They had attended the wedding of the daughter of some dear friends and had traveled beyond the neighborhood.  They were glad to be home and eagerly hopped into bed as soon as they could get their jammies on.  Daria and Dan (my husband’s brother) and she were listening to messages and heard my SOS.  

medium rare prime rib that cuts like butter

I did the roast her way.  325 degrees F until the roast reaches the desired temperature.  For medium rare, you want 120 degrees F.  That might sound a bit low, but while the roast is resting (draped in tin foil), the temperature will rise about 20 degrees.  Daria said to score the fat cap in diagonal cuts to allow the seasonings to penetrate and to make it look pretty when it comes out of the oven.  That’s what I did and I made a rub out of smashed garlic, Dijon mustard, finely chopped rosemary and salt and pepper.  I massaged this wet rub into the cuts in the top of the roast, but also rubbed the rest of the roast as well.  I didn’t have a proper rack for the roasting pan I was using, so I rough chopped an onion and spread it on the bottom of the roaster.  I set the rib roast on top of the onions which acted as a rack.  I poured a little beef stock in the bottom and roasted it uncovered at 325 degrees F for about 2 hours.  I checked the meat temperature frequently to make sure I didn’t over cook it.  It came out perfectly!  It was gorgeous and the flavor was unbelievable!  Just excellent.  I will make this again and again.

Martha's Rhubarb Custard

For Dessert, I made individual ramekins of rhubarb custard, warm from the oven with a bit of vanilla ice cream on top.  I found the recipe in the May issue of the Martha Stewart Magazine.  I followed her recipe exactly and it came out as beautiful as it was pictured in her magazine and so delicious it was ridiculous.  For those of you who read regularly, you know I’m not much of a baker or dessert maker, but let me tell you, this recipe was so simple, so straight forward and so delicious.  If I can make it come out, anyone can make this fabulous dessert.

Leave a Reply

