Sunday, February 28, 2010 – Crab Cakes

Oh my goodness, have I cooked enough this week to start sagging at the knees?  Hell no!  This is what I love to do.  This is what I would be doing if I had two broken legs and couldn’t raise my right hand and swear on the bible!

Carl and Razan

Tonight, my very dear friend Rozana and her adorable husband Carl came to dinner.  I refer to Rozana as “The Swiss Miss”, because she is from Switzerland, but mostly because I have two dear friends named Rosan and my other friends get confused about it.  She is so beautiful, inside and out.  She somehow touched my heart from the first moment I met her.  I love her to pieces.  Her husband is practically a native Floridian, a very rare thing.  He moved here when he was a child.  But the wonder is, he is from Michigan before Florida, just like me.  He is very smart and scientific and he loves food and he loves eating and he loves Rozana. 

The four of us had been planning on going to the opera in Palm Beach this afternoon and coming back here for dinner afterwards. Rozan loves the opera.  For me, I don’t know anything about the opera, but I was crazy about the idea of being able to say, “Ah yes, dahling, I saw that opera in Palm Beach a while back”.  Ha!  I thought it all sounded quite exhilarating!  Unfortunately, the tickets to the show were not to our satisfaction and we were unable to come up with another arty plan for the day.  So, I suggested we still plan on dinner at our place.  Oh, more pressure, fine dining without the opera, please don’t make me sing or paint or something else during dinner.

Crab Cakes with Lemon and Dill

Mixed Roast of Fingerling Potatoes, Green Beans, Cherry Tomatoes and Fresh Herbs

It all turned out to be a lovely evening.  I decided on crab cakes for dinner.  We’ve been having such wintry weather here in Florida and when I want to feel summery, I say, fix a summery meal.  So crab cakes seemed ideal.  When I fix crab cakes, I like to serve other summery inspired dishes, like; fresh tomatoes and red skin potatoes and green beans and absolutely fresh corn.  In Florida, let me tell you, there will never be good fresh tomatoes and there will never be good fresh corn.  So, my answer  to no fresh corn is to make corn pudding.  It is a great substitution.  It’s steamy and buttery and sweet and creamy with a crisp bite.  As for the lack of tasty tomatoes, I like to mix cherry tomatoes in with small red skin potatoes and roast them in the oven with olive oil and herbs. 

For the dinner tonight, I added fresh green beans and rosemary from my garden.  So we had; crab cakes, corn pudding and a mixed roast of fingerling red skin potatoes, cherry tomatoes, green beans, with olive oil and fresh rosemary.  ‘MMMM ‘MMMM good!  The whole meal felt like sunshine and warm weather.

You are not going to believe this, but I actually made dessert.  I made a pie!  I made a peach pie!  Ok, well, I bought the crust.  My mother is turning in her grave.  She was the best pie crust maker on earth.  I have her recipe.  I’ve tried it.  My sister, Paula can make it turn out.  I think I’m hexed when in comes to pie crust.  I think my grandmother sneaks in my kitchen and ruins the pie crust for me.  Just kidding, grandma, I’m just not good at dessert.  I will learn to do it one day, maybe.  I topped the peach pie with whipped cream that I had whipped a little peach jam into.  Can you stand it?  Peachy whipped cream on top of peach pie?  It was really good!  Try it the next time you are serving a fruit pie.  Whip a little matching fruit jam into your whipped cream topping.  Wowee!

2 Responses to Sunday, February 28, 2010 – Crab Cakes

  1. Lyta Kessler says:

    How lucky can the “Swiss Miss” and her husband, Carl be? And to your credit the peach pie came out beautifully.

  2. Rozan says:

    Rozan and Carl commented:
    “Carol was so sweet to invite us.
    It is so much work you know before during and after…
    I already knew how good she is . She invited us many times before. Not just cooking. Every thing. She has that gift . She is so highly smart and bright , she can turn everything beautiful, a text, a picture, a plant, a dish of potatoes tomatos and green beans,..
    We loved the crab cakes and the corn pudding, Carl is still talking about the corn pudding and I’m nuts about potatoes especially if they are beautifully cut and served on a dish with colorful tomatoes and green beans(have you seen that picture?), Thank you Carol and David, we had a very pleasant evening and we love your dog ginger is a sweet heart and your cats are drop dead gorgeous, and the fish is unbelievable, it is all so perfect…Thanks”

Leave a Reply

