Sunday, February 21, 2010 Corned Beef Brisket

My daughter arrived home from school this afternoon and she brought her young man with her.   I’ve been so looking forward to meeting him.  We’ve heard so much about him and he seems like a jewel.  Of course my daughter has been bragging to him about the home cooking he could look forward to.  Oooh, pressure!  Just my luck, I pulled a muscle in my lower back/hip area so badly that I though I might have broken my hip.  Saturday, I couldn’t move at all without extreme pain.  How am I supposed to wow this kid when I can’t even boil water?   Rest, ice, heat and massage and I’m moving a bit better on Sunday and decide I haven’t broken anything, just a bad pull.

What to make in my incapacitated state?  I decide on corned beef brisket with red skin potatoes, carrots and cabbage, one pot style.  Not exactly a meal for a special guest, but about all I can manage.   It all comes out fine, but it is sort of a country, family style meal and not what I had wanted.   And my pictures are not coming out either.  I need to do something different with the photos.  I’m new at this and I am already in a rut, style-wise on the photography.  I am very disappointed! 

Classic Corned Beef with Cabbage and Root Vegetables

Menu:

One Response to Sunday, February 21, 2010 Corned Beef Brisket

  1. Lyta Kessler says:

    I think it looks exactly as it should…homey and comforting…what a welcome home present.

    Keep it coming please.

Leave a Reply

