Sunday, January 31, 2010 – Smoky Bourbon Pork Chops

Bone-in, center-cut pork chops are the pork equivalent  to a beef porterhouse steak.  On one side of the bone is the ever so tender tenderloin and on the other side is the delicious sirloin.  So, it’s like two steaks in one.  When the tenderloin is removed, you are left with what is referred to as a T-bone steak.  I bought the porterhouse version of the pork chop for added pizzazz and wow factor for a company meal.  

I was looking for a marinade or glaze that would spiff up the pork chop enough for my Sunday dinner.  I didn’t want a barbeque, my mother-in-law is not crazy about asian food, and I wasn’t in the mood for something frenchy (which is always a good way to dress up casual food).  So, I came up with the idea for a bourbon marinade and further decided to make it citrusy with orange for balance and spicy and smoky for flavor and kick.  I used smoked paprika and chipotle hot sauce to get the smoky flavor.  

Smoky Bourbon Pork Chop

 I decided to serve the pork chop with individual spinach souffles that are made with feta cheese and eggs.  They taste exactly like the filling in the greek pastry, spanikopita.  They’re more waist friendly because there’s no pastry or crust.  They are really easy to make but look so fancy and the taste is fantastic – even for most vegetable haters (like my darling mother-in-law).  I added a pasta side dish to round out the menu.  I made whole wheat rotini (I love the Gia Russa brand).  After I cooked the pasta, I stirred in a little pesto, some crushed italian tomatoes, some chopped roasted red pepper and shaved parmigiano reggiano.  I topped it off with a little chopped fresh basil from my garden.  It looked pretty but was simple enough to be paired with the other items on the menu.  And it was robust enough to stand up to the pork chop.  

We are all watching our waist lines this time of the year, so for dessert I made small parfaits of orange scented mouse with a sugar free chocolate syrup drizzle.  I served them in a fancy crystal martini glass and I don’t think anyone felt deprived.  

Dressed Up Pork Chop

MENU:  

Smoky Bourbon Pork Chops  

Spinach & Feta Souffles  

Rotini with Roasted Red Pepper & Basil  

Orange Scented Mouse Parfaits with Chocolate Drizzle  

One Response to Sunday, January 31, 2010 – Smoky Bourbon Pork Chops

  1. Carolina Small says:

    Carol!!! This is impressive!!
    Outstanding blog!!! Simply written and explained with perfect photography. A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

Leave a Reply

