Sunday, January 24, 2010 – London Broil

London Broil is an inexpensive cut of meat, but if properly handled can be an elegant meal for company.  I used to select my menus for company meals by looking through my cook books, magazines, watching a few cooking shows, or all of the above.  These day, I go to the grocery to see what is on sale.  This week, Top Round London Broil was on sale for $2.99 a pound and it looked beautiful.  So, London Broil it is. 

Back in the 70’s and 80’s,  I remember london broil was something you ordered at a fancy restaurant and it always had this same sweet and sour kind of taste.  A little like steak sauce, but it was in the marinade not the sauce.  I’ve been searching for a recipe that duplicates this specific flavor I remember, but can’t come up with one.  I went to old cookbooks thinking that might do it, but no such luck.  Until I find the recipe that brings back those fond memories, I use the recipe listed here.  It is delicious, just not the same as the one I remember.

Grilled London Broil

Grilled London Broil with Brown Rice and Steamed Green Beans

 

MENU:

London Broil

Herbed Brown & Wild Rice

Buttered Fresh Green Beans

Angel Food Cake with Strawberries & Whipped Cream

Leave a Reply

