New Years Day, 2010 – Beef Bourguignon

I had absolutely no plans to cook anything for New Years.  I don’t know why, it just didn’t occur to me.  Until a friend of mine called for help on a pork roast she was doing for her family with black-eyed peas and collard greens.  She said it was her traditional southern New Years day menu.  Well, I was inspired, so I was trying to think up something good to eat when I spied my Christmas gift, Mastering The Art of French Cooking by Julia Child.  How about Beef Bourguignon?!  I had never made it before, but we had all just watched the new movie, Julie and Julia and it was made in the movie.  It had sounded great.  So, off I went to the grocery store to get the proper ingredients.   It came out better than I could have ever imagined.  I tell you, that Julia knows a thing or two about cooking.  We wanted to lick our plates it was so good.  

MENU:  

  • Beef Bourguignon
  • Roasted Baby Red Skins with Asparagus Tips
  • Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream for Dessert

   

  

Beef Bourguignon

  

Leave a Reply

