Christmas Eve, 2009 – Bouillabaisse

I recently learned about the feast of the seven fishes, the Italian tradition for Christmas Eve.  Generally seven different dishes or courses are prepared, each with a different fish or type of seafood.  The variety of dishes is dizzying.  I plan to find specific recipes and try them out throughout the year, probably not seven at a time.

For Christmas Eve I always prepare bouillabaisse, a fish soup made with fish stock, tomato, garlic, onion, herbs and fish.  I don’t make it any other day of the year so it seems very special when served on Christmas Eve.  I didn’t have seven fishes in my soup, but almost.  I included six seafood varieties.  This year I used cod, king crab, shrimp, scallops, lobster and little neck clams.  It depends on what looks good at the fish monger’s shop. 

I served the soup with a festive looking bread wreath which almost turned into a disaster.  About an hour before dinner I checked the package instructions for the frozen dinner roll dough and it said to thaw overnight.  Yikes!  An hour to go and I was supposed to thaw this out yesterday.   Thank goodness they had instructions for emergency quick thaw.

 

My daughter, Barbara is home from McGill University in Montreal.  She is a freshman and we haven’t seen her since we dropped her off in August.  It has been wonderful to have her here.  So, for both Christmas Eve and Christmas it was just the four of us, David, Mum, Barbara and I.  Nothing very exciting, just relaxing with the people we love, listening to Christmas music, admiring the tree and the piles of gifts.

 

 Menu:

  • Bread Wreath with Fresh Herbs
  • Bread Pudding with Brandied Fruit and Lemon Sauce

2 Responses to Christmas Eve, 2009 – Bouillabaisse

  1. Charlene says:

    I plan to celebrate the feast of Seven Fishes this year with Bouillabaisse. It seems like the perfect dish for large gatherings.

    • Thanks, Charlene. I have been making Bouillabaisse for Christmas Eve for years. I think you will love this recipe. With so many varieties of seafood, it is perfect for the the Seven Fishes Feast!

Leave a Reply

