Sunday, November 22, 2009

I’ve been in my glory for the past few weeks, scouring all the magazines, cooking shows and blogs for Thanksgiving recipes.  I know it’s just one day, one meal, but I so enjoy looking at everyone’s ideas for both new and traditional Thanksgiving dishes. 

So, the past two Sunday menus have inlcuded recipes that I found intriuging, but decided not to fix for Thanksgiving.  The “Pureed Root Vegatables” for today came from Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa.  I thought the recipe sounded delicious but I didn’t want to make it for Thanksgiving because it would replace the mashed potatoes, but you wouldn’t put gravy on them.  That seemed unacceptable to me – no gravy??  No way!  So, I decided to make them for the second Sunday of “pre Thanksgiving” dinners.  Sadly, they turned out badly.  The apples in them give them a very wierd taste.  They look like they should taste savory but then they have this odd sweet, sour taste.  I will try the recipe again without the apples and without the apple cider theyare cooked in.

MENU:

  • Baked Ham With Orange Marmalade, Dijon Mustard Glaze
  • Puree of Wintry Root Vegatables
  • Steamed Green Beans with Butter
  • Classic Southern Chess Pie
Leave a Reply

